Ranji Trophy: MP received by 6 Wicket

IndiaTV-English News


Image Source: BCCIMP won by six wickets

Madhya Pradesh beat domestic powerhouse Mumbai by six wickets in a one-sided Ranji Trophy final on Sunday.

On the final day, Mumbai might only handle 269 of their second innings and MP had a target of simply 108 runs. The match was in MP’s management and so they ended it in style.

Coach Chandrakant Pandit won a record sixth nationwide title as a coach after the victory. Interestingly, 23 years in the past when MP reached the final for the primary and the one time he was the captain at the moment when MP lost to Karnataka.

Sarfaraz Khan who finished the season with 18 in need of 1000 runs and younger Suved Parkar tried their bit, however with the necessity to attack at each opportunity, MP’s Kumar Kartikeya and the other bowlers knew that wickets would come their way.

The Yash Dubeys, Himanshu Mantris, Shubham Sharma, Gourav Yadavs, or Saransh Jains aren’t players who would provide the feeling that they’re India prospects, the stylish Rajat Patidar being an exception. But they gave sufficient indication that they are not able to concede even a micro millimeter with no good scrap.

MP’s win as soon once more proved that the Ranji Trophy is commonly won by sides that do not have too many superstars.

When the Ranji Trophy began, the Madhya Pradesh cricket team wasn’t even formed and it was back then generally known as Holkar, a princely state from the British period.

Holkar was a formidable team until the 1950s earlier than it was rechristened as Madhya Bharat and Madhya Pradesh.

As a Ranji team, it by no means appeared menacing save the occasional final they performed 23 summers. However, this was a team that had sufficient self-belief and confidence and the power to by no means give up.

The Ranji Trophy deserves to be within the MPCA cabinet for the following yr.

(Inputs from PTI)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here